The Suez Canal Economic Zone (SCZone) is a world-class free zone and trade hub along the banks of the newly-expanded Suez Canal. Strategically located on the main trade route between Europe and Asia, more than eight percent of global trade passes through every year.

Spanning 461 km2, almost two-thirds the size of Singapore, the SCZone consists of two integrated areas, two development areas and four ports.

The two integrated areas are:

  • Ain Sokhna with Ain Sokhna Port
  • East Port Said with East Port Said Port
The two development areas are:
  • Qantara West
  • East Ismailia

The four ports are:

  • West Port Said Port
  • Adabiya Port
  • Al Tor Port
  • Al Arish Port

Each integrated and development area provides investment opportunities in industrial and commercial enterprises, infrastructure and real estate development, logistics, amenities and state-of-the-art technology.

Planned port expansions will increase the capacity for handling maritime traffic and for offering related services such as ship building, stevedoring, bunkering, vessel scrapping and recycling.

All SCZone investors are assisted from start to finish through a business-friendly process that streamlines registration, licensing and obtaining permits for new businesses.

For more information about the SCZone's legal framework, download ​the Egyptian Law for Economic Zones of a Special Nature .